Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all Its nice to meet everyone. My name Is Travis and im new to this forum. I live in Utah. I have browsed around and found some great info! Before explain my probem ill give a quick description of me. I am an aircraft engineer, mechanic, electrician. I have been a hobbyist mechanic for 13 years. Specialize in building racing vehicles (cars) for mostly circuit racing or drag. But play around with race boats and snowmobiles on occasion. I have owned a few bikes but currently do not have a road bike. Now onto my issues.

I just purchased a mini rail yesterday on Easter that has a ninja ZX6r engine, he made me an offer i couldnt refuse. I know this post is going to be missing some vital info such as the year of the motor. I did just find out thanks to this site how to idenify the year of the engine and I'll update in a few hours when i get home. Anyways the engine starts right up no problems without choke even. I let it warm up and go for a ride as long as i stay under half throttle it runs flawlessy, but when i really get on the throttle it falls on its face as you would expect a cold engine to do, but it never goes away. I just picked it up yesterday and will know alot more tonight. i am going to begin with the basics such as changing plugs, checking gap, cleaning carbs and sea-foam plus drain and refill the fuel tank with new filter. I am wondering if there is anything else i should inspect as i am not fully familiar with this engine yet. Is this a common problem? Areas to look? Any help is much appreciated and look forward to the info on this site.

Travis

20140420_143013.jpg

20140420_193717.jpg

·
Registered
2,566 Posts