Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the life of me, I don't understand why everyone says to start small. Ok, i understand that beginners such as myself should learn with less power. But what happens when you want more? What happens when you learn how to ride and you are stuck with a bike that doesn't perform or look as well as you want it to? Who has money to buy a new bike every time you want to upgrade?

I just started riding less than a week ago. I have the motorcycle that you see to the left. A ninja zx6. No MSF course , just utube videos. And i'm doing fine. It seems like once you learn how to shift, its a piece of cake.

So again?? Why start less than 600 when you are going to want to upgrade?

My bike is beautiful.. I love the power.. And I'm totally satisfied.

·
Registered
2 Posts
I just started riding in April. I bought a '93 Ex500, and took a course on 250s. Now that i have been riding a while, I like to think that i am ready for a ZX6R, but every once in a while I get a subtle reminder that I am still a novice.

The ex500 is very forgiving when I accidentally blip the throttle, or when I need to adjust my line in a corner, and I didn't have to fork out $750 or more after I dropped the 250 at the training centre. I would hate to see your face when you drop that beauty because you dropped the clutch and stalled the bike with both feet on the pegs in a parking lot. The fact that all true sportbikes are so finely tuned makes them very unforgiving to learners.

I'll probably buy a ZX for my third bike. I'm getting a new ninja 650 for next year. I also know that I paid $3100 (Canadian) for my bike, and will get about the same or even more when I sell it. Good luck with your new machine.

I hope your first few months are as enjoyable as mine have been.

·
Registered
1,185 Posts