1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Electric motor plug wires fried?

Ok, newbie here.

Here's the story

I have an 05 zx6r. I changed the battery and when I connected everything back to the terminals, one of my negative(-) wires was hiding and it touched the wires of the thing in the picture. It fried it obviously when I tried to start it. I think that its the electric motor but I honestly have no idea, also what is it going to cost me to fix this??

Also the fuel light and "fuel" is blinking when I turn it to on.

EDIT: I think its the wiring harness?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
That sucks, man. You may need to strip all the insulation/tape off of the wiring there and see if the spark cut one of your wires. Fix that shit and re-wrap it better and you should be fine. Make sure there are no blown fuses while you're at it.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That sucks, man. You may need to strip all the insulation/tape off of the wiring there and see if the spark cut one of your wires. Fix that shit and re-wrap it better and you should be fine. Make sure there are no blown fuses while you're at it.
Checked the fuses, they are all good. Do you know what the hell that thing is or what it would cost to fix it?

·
Registered
1,230 Posts
Checked the fuses, they are all good. Do you know what the hell that thing is or what it would cost to fix it?
Nah man, sorry I can't really tell. If it were my bike, I would just remove all that tape, re-splice the wires, solder them back together, shrink wrap, then retape to make it look OEM again.

·
Registered
2,575 Posts