Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14,692 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Sorry if this rambles. Been thinking about this for the last few weeks.

Having ridden for a few decades, I've developed some preferences and expectations on what I think a bike should be and do. This list is in far less flux than it was in the '80s, LOL. In the 70's it didn't matter what it was or was meant to do, so long as it was FAST.

My definition of fast is biased by the early experience with motocross bikes. I started riding off road before monoshock suspensions were the norm -- dual sport/dirt bikes were essentially street bikes with knobbies, possibly with longer travel suspension.

When I had a chance to ride a purpose built motocross bike (my brother's '74 Husky 250 CR when I was 12 and 13 years old and weighed about 100 lbs) I discovered that light and powerful always feels better than heavy and powerful.

When one of his buddies bought a '76 250 WR with the monoshock and nearly twice the suspension travel front and rear, I discovered that brutally fast with working suspension was much, much better.

Fast forward to 1990, and I spent a summer working part time as a motorcycle salesman at Fun Bike Center in San Diego. That meant I got to ride anything on the used lot, and anything new I sold before the customer rode it off the lot. Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki, and BMW were the brands carried by the dealership, but anything that was traded in had to be ridden to keep fresh fuel in the bowls, batteries topped up etc. It was typical to ride 2-3 different bikes, each day.