Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well everyone, as the title states, this doesn't look too good to me. I'm not an internal expert by any means, but I am learning. I was taking the headers and radiator off to get all of the overspray from the previous owner taken care of. Once I removed the the headers I noticed this disgusting amount of carbon build up (pics of #3). My next big project is going to be the valves, it looks like. I have performed a compression test already and got the following results; 1/166 2/162 3/153 4/159 with #3 being slightly out of spec. My main question is regarding seafoam. I have heard quite a few good things about it, but have never used it. Is it ok to spray seafoam in there as well as down through my throttle bodies and let it soak for a week or two? I'm mainly concerned of what would happen if it seeps down into the cylinder. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Exhaust side:

Intake side (best shot I could get, but they're gunked up:

·
Registered
2,566 Posts
I'm no expert here, but the one or two times I've used Seafoam, I've only let it sit in there for 10-15 minutes. Idk how good of an idea it would be to let it sit for a week, but I'm sure somebody will chime in here with a better answer

·
Registered
4,877 Posts
I have no idea either - I'm mostly just commenting to bump the thread so that someone more knowledgeable can help :)

·
Registered
1,652 Posts
I've only used it in cars, just in the intake/ throttle body, let it sit for a half hour, and produced a smoke screen once I started it up!

·
Registered
3,110 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I know Mattel said something about it in a previous thread, but of course I cant find it. I'm assuming it's ok for some of it to seep into the cylinder. Mattel, where are you man!?

·
Registered
831 Posts
Eddie (Mattel) is selling/sold the 636. I don't know if he lurks here any longer.

·
Registered
493 Posts