Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys and Gals

Newbie here, first time posting a post anywhere on the internet really so excuse me if I sound so direct. Im having some issues with my tail light. I have a clear alternatives integrated LED tail light on my 05 636, the tail light went out, turn signals works, brake light works.

Anyways I took it apart and found a connector with 3 prongs, one positive prong, another labeled 13 i believe(hot for tail light), and a prong in the middle for the brake light (hot). I tested the middle prong (brake) which gave me an out put ranging from 10 to 12.5 volts upon pressing the brake. When I first hook it up, the voltage supposedly starts off at around 50v then in about 5 seconds drops down and hovers around 10-12v. Im not sure if its the multimeter or the bike, I hooked up the multimeter to the battery and it gives a solid 12.5 volts, no hoping around. I dont have any experience with multimeters so I dont know if its me the bike or the tool. But if anybody could shed some light on this that would be great.

The main problem is that the hot for the brake light is giving out a reading of any where from 6-9v, and I dont know where to start looking for what may be causing the problem. I hooked up the light to the turnsignals and both sets of brake light and running tail light LED's worked fine, so I know the LED's arnt the issue.

Im thinking its possibly the relay but I couldn't understand the instructions in the service manual on how to test it.

Anyways I guess the main question is if you where getting a reading of 6-9 volts on a line and your supposed to get 12 where would you look?