Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. Newbie here to the world of ZX6R and super sport bikes. Have recently picked up an 05 ZX6R and have an issue with a fork rebound adjuster pin that has fallen down inside the fork (sounds good, I know!!). See photos.

I have started a thread in Mechanical & Technical but not had a massive response as to how to fix it. http://zx6r.com/mechanical-technical/55517-rebound-adjuster-broken.html

What I really need is advise where to take the bike locally to get fixed plus a general fork overhaul. Anyone know of anywhere near Reading/Berkshire?

I don't want to get into removing the forks and sending them away to K-Tec etc as I have only just got the bike and want to get on with riding it asap!!

This place looks good but would rather not have to go quite that far:

ABOUT PDQ MOTORCYCLE DEVELOPMENTS.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,365 Posts
Maybe some of the members in England will chime in with some suggestions shortly.

If in fact your missing the needle/rod get ready for sticker shock. Kawasaki doesn't sell replacements. They only sell them as part of the damper assembly, $350'ish US. You might be able to find a used fork for less. Maybe if you find a shop they might have some from previous jobs?

Not sure how the bike actually rides. I would imagine its awful with no damping from that valve. Missing that needle allows all the oil to bypass the actual valving in the fork.

Anyway, good luck with it.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys.

MTC are in Reading but I didn't realise this was 'their thing'. I'm planning to give them a call tomorrow.

As far as how it rides - seems fine to me (I'm coming from a well worn SV650 though!). Haven't ridden it since I turned the screw and it fell in the fork so no idea what effect that has had.

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
Thanks guys.