Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to riding and not the handiest mechanic but I can do a decent amount. I have a 2002 Kawasaki zx6r. I got the bike about 6 months ago and it ran perfect and I had no problems with it.

Now its after winter and I'm having an issue

I took it out the other day and I believe that I ran it completely out of gas. I forgot I had already put it on reserves.

Well I filled it up couldn't get it started and pushed it home.
Got it started later that evening and thought it was all good.

Took it out the next day and got about a mile or 2 up the road and it started to act like It was running out of gas again. It died on me and I couldn't get it started back up. I pushed it home.

I looked up some things about the problem.

I have drained the float bowls about 3 times, and today I also added a gas treatment called heet to the tank. let it sit then took it out for a spin same problem.

I can hear the fuel pump it doesn't humm but it clicks.
After I take it down the road and it runs out of gas it will not click anymore though, not sure if that's normal.

Cant find the fuse or relay for the fuel pump either but I mean I do have power to it so I know the fuse is good still.

Please help......

·
Registered
4,683 Posts
Not a bad plan to check the fuel filter, but I kinda doubt that's the issue.

What does it do after it dies? Will it still turn over, but just not start? If it's turning over, does it fire at all? Have you tried spraying starter fluid in? How have you narrowed down that it's actually a fuel delivery issue?

·
Registered
14,626 Posts
I am new to riding and not the handiest mechanic but I can do a decent amount. I have a 2002 Kawasaki zx6r. I got the bike about 6 months ago and it ran perfect and I had no problems with it.

Now its after winter and I'm having an issue