Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone..
I am taking my 2018 zx6r to the track this weekend. Can anyone tell me what the tire pressure should be on the stock tires for track day? I will be going to Summit Point. This is my first time on track with this bike and second time ever in general going to track.

·
Registered
7,205 Posts
Bridgestone S21

Recommended cold PSI

front: 30
rear: 27

Bridgestone_MC_tyre_inflation_Racing.PDF

Except the stock tires are not the bridgestone S21 that bridgestone sells to the public.......

oe tires may well say that designation on the sidewall, but they are anything but the same tire.....

furthermore, someone doing a trackday for a second time ever is totally different than someone racing (and anyone worth their salt in racing sure the hell isn't doing it on S21's)

To the OP....

I would say if you run 30 psi-32psi front and rear you will have all the grip you will need and use at a trackday event without having too much tire flex or too much heat (but there are tons of factors involved in getting optimal pressures)....... just set it and forget it (far more important things to keep your mind occupied) and ride the trackday and keep in mind, the only winners are those who take their bike home still all in one piece and enjoyed as well as learned good things that day

·
Registered
208 Posts
dont know your pace, but assuming you are an average "newb" on track, I would say start your first session on the same pressure as you use on the road. Then if you want start reducing aiming to 32/32.

If you are dragging your knee everywhere, .....then follow above advice.

·
Registered
78 Posts
dont know your pace, but assuming you are an average "newb" on track, I would say start your first session on the same pressure as you use on the road. Then if you want start reducing aiming to 32/32.

If you are dragging your knee everywhere, .....then follow above advice.