Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm new to motorcycling, this forum, and forums in general, so if this has already been answered, my bad.

First off, I want to state that I did some searching around, and research on bikes in my price range, decided on a 05-06 zx6r and found what I believe to be an awesome deal. I recently picked up a beautiful orange 05 zx6r with 9,400 miles on it, for $4,200 mostly stock (I believe) except for the yoshimura exhaust and some sliders on it.

Now for what I need help with. My brother also recently got a motorcycle and my father was a rider when he was younger, and they both suggested I get a steering stabilizer, I've found some that are just over $100, and others upwards of $4-500. So how much of a difference is there between the $150 stabilizers, and the $400+ stabilizers? Are the $150 stabilizers even worth it or are they just a waste of money?

If there is a cheap stabilizer that works as well as the more expensive kinds, I would appreciate the info, I'm on a limited budget, so if I can get a good one for $200 or so, that would be great!

·
Registered
3,365 Posts
Why do you want a stabilizer? Besides someone told you to get one? Do you understand what they are designed to do? Why don't you just ride the bike until you figure out what you like and don't like about it? IHMO they are all wastes of money on street bikes but that statement will I'm sure start a war on the forum. At least learn what they are used for and figure out if you need one on your bike before you run out and buy one. If your new to this ride a bit before you spend a bunch of money on performance parts. Your bike is already awesome and way more capable than you are.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·