Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently started riding and purchased a 1995 ZX6R about a month ago. I have been having some problems starting the bike in the morning (i use the bike to go to work). When I first press the start button i can hear the starter crank over, and the engine barely try to start. After i hit the start button again, the starter cranks but the engine doesn't start at all. Keep in mind I'm not holding the starter button down excessively, only a second or two. I have also tried to hold the throttle open a bit, and fully open to start the bike with no success. I have also tried the choke at various positions with no success.
I tried to remedy/test the problem by doing a push start (which shouldn't make a difference because the starter cranks over fine) but it does start the bike. In fact, i have tried to push start unsuccessfully, but then (with the bike stopped) used the starter button to successfully start the bike. After the bike starts it runs fine, no sputtering or issue that i can tell.
It SEEMS like when i push start the bike it clears the seemingly flooded engine.
The funny thing is, when i leave to go home after being at work for a normal 8 hour day, the bike does not have this issue starting.
I thought there may have been a fuel vacuum tube issue, so I also tried to turn the petcock to the OFF position after i get off the bike at night, but it does not seem to help.
As a side note, i have been getting crappy mileage with the bike. If i ride only in town i get 28-30mpg. I tested the bike at freeway speeds and got 38mpg, but this still sounds too low.

Could this be a carburetor float bowl issue?
Am i getting poor mileage because i need to get the carbs cleaned?

Any and all advice would be appreciated

·
Registered
55 Posts