Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 ZX6r that is supposed to run 120/65ZR17 up front and 180/55ZR17 in the rear. The previous owner put on a 120/70ZR17 Michelin Pilot Power in the front and the recommended size in the rear. The larger 120/70 seems to clear the fender fine, and the bike handles fine to me. But then again, I am a beginner and this is my first bike. So, I don't know any better about what constitute good handling and stability and the effects of going smaller or larger on the front tires.

I need new tires now and I am considering getting the Pilot Power 2CT, but they only come in 120/60 or 120/70 for the front. Should I get it one of these sizes (please tell me the pros and cons of each), or should I just get the regular Pilot Power in 120/65? I usually run my pressure at 35-38psi.

Thanks for your advice.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Always a safe bet to run OEM sizes. No need to get jiggy with it.

·
Registered
257 Posts
There is nothing wrong with running a 120/70 on a bike that came with a 120/65 so long as you lower the front end back down to compensate for the taller tire, otherwise you end up with a taller front end and poor handling.

120/70 gives you many more options for tires

·
Registered
253 Posts
I have used all three sizes (120/60, 120/65 & 120/70), granted I have never ridden them immediately back-to-back, but have never felt any real difference on road or track. Get a 120/65 if there is one available in the tyre you're after (although they are getting quite rare now), otherwise you will be fine with a 120/70 (you'll have more options than a 120/60).

A 120/70 tyre is roughly 6mm taller than a 120/65, but personally I wouldn't worry too much about dropping the front end. Given that the front forks have about 120mm of travel, there are other variables which would slightly affect a bikes geometry, so it won't lead to poor handling if you don't alter the fork height.

·