Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys

This for a 2019 zx6r:

So I installed my pcv yesterday following this video by j&pcycles:

Everything seemed straight forward except the throttle sensor. I couldn't find it, but I saw a small plug underneath the left side of the airbox that I thought might fit into the pcv harness and decided to give it a try. This was the wrong plug! So I plugged it back into its original spot.

I ended up finding the 2 sensors that the video was referencing on the right side of the airbox. (Yes the directions that came with the pcv said that they would be on the right side but when I couldnt find them the first time, I thought it might be because the directions were listed for a 2013-2018 and that the 2019 might've changed, but I was wrong)

Anyway, I think this is where things went wrong. I either used the wrong throttle sensor to plug into the pcv harness or that left plug that I initially used is what's causing my bike to flash the ktc, kqs, and power mode options. The tricky thing is that I removed the pcv completely and set everything back to stock and they're still flashing and my bike won't start. I'm looking through the manual now and can't figure out which plug is what. I'm very new to maintaining my bike and doing stuff myself so this is somewhat frustrating because i'm really not sure what the issue would be when just plug&playing a pcv.

So I guess my questions are...

Are those 2 plugs on the right side of airbox wedged between the box and frame the 2 throttle sensors that I need to choose between?
And what is that left plug under the left side of airbox for? Is it for my power, kqs, and ktc modes and could it being loose be the reason my modes are flashing?

Not currently at home now but I can upload pictures later so it's easier to show what plugs I'm messing with.


UPDATE: I got the PCV installed and working but my power, ktc, and kqs modes are still flashing and the check engine light is on. It's like it's waiting for me to set them but I cant so they're just off now. Anyone have an idea of what could be the issue?..I'm not sure if unplugging that one wire caused my bike to throw a code. Thanks!

UPDATE: 6/18/2019
Talked to a dyno tuner who said that this would happen to the 17+ zx10 (2019 zx6 apparently has the same technology) whenever you turn the bike on with anything unplugged. I didn't think much of this but I did turn the bike on when my TPS was loose and I had to secure it. Now I'm wondering if this might be the reason that my check engine/FI are on and my power mode/KTRC/KQS options are flashing.

He basically said that I'd need to cycle my bike A LOT for my bike to clear out.

If anyone can confirm this info, please say so! Also, if it's true, what is the best way to cycle my bike other than ride it everyday? His definition of cycle was "start/warm it up, let the fans come on, then turn off and cool down". I'm usually a weekend rider so riding everyday isn't exactly ideal.

His other solution was to come in and flash my ecu for $300. Now it would be great to flash my ecu and get a few things unlocked but i dont think its super necessary tbh.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,611 Posts
I would try disconnecting the battery for a few minutes, hoping that would clear the fault.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Unplugging the battery might work but if not ride it for a few time. Cycling the ECU on and off with a 20min ride in between should clear it. If it does not clear it then there might be a real problem and it needs the code read. Hope this all helps.

Ummm power commander install. If you unplugged a sensor then it will throw a check engine light. Like unplugging the exhaust valve servo will make the light come on. Unplugging the ECU will do the same. If you plug it all back in to stock positions then it takes a few rides like a stated above to clear it. The bike is amazing and the electronics are just as amazing but can suck if you want to work on it. Now I hope this helps.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yeah did the battery thing. Didn't work. I took it on 2 short rides to see if it'll clear but no dice. I'll try and take it for a few rides until my stealership appointment on..july 9th so I have some time to figure out what happened.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Update 6/18/2019

Talked to a dyno tuner who said that this would happen to the 17+ zx10 (2019 zx6 apparently has the same technology) whenever you turn the bike on with anything unplugged. I didn't think much of this but I did turn the bike on when my TPS was loose and I had to secure it. Now I'm wondering if this might be the reason that my check engine/FI are on and my power mode/KTRC/KQS options are flashing.

He basically said that I'd need to cycle my bike A LOT for my bike to clear out.

If anyone can confirm this info, please say so! Also, if it's true, what is the best way to cycle my bike other than ride it everyday? His definition of cycle was "start/warm it up, let the fans come on, then turn off and cool down". I'm usually a weekend rider so riding everyday isn't exactly ideal.

His other solution was to come in and flash my ecu for $300. Now it would be great to flash my ecu and get a few things unlocked but i dont think its super necessary tbh.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Yeah you just have to ride it for a while to clear it. You could start it and warm it up everyday like you said if you can ride it. But it might take a while to clear it. It’s not broken so don’t worry about it it will clear in time.
I flashed my ECU and it’s amazing worth it. Best of luck.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)
Ah well I just couldn't justify the $300+ to clear my codes considering my bike is running fine.

but i have another update! I figured out how to pull the codes. I'm getting 11, 13 on my dash. 11 is apparently the TPS, which makes sense because it was loose when I turned the bike on. Then 13 is crying about the air inlet temp sensor, which I think is also not a problem? My dash shows my air intake temp still so I assume both issues are solved.

Now I just need to clear my codes and I'm all set, but I have no idea how to reset them without a dealer or flash. I found this 2016 zx10r engine code reset but it didn't work for my bike:

if anyone knows how to clear the codes similar to this or where to find out how, please let me know!

2nd update: just called my dealer and they said they can clear the codes for 1/2 hour of labor ($60) or I can try leaving my battery disconnected for a few hours because the codes might be stored, so my ecu needs to reset completely.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Took it to 2 dealerships and both don't have the kawi computer. They apparently changed how to clear codes and now it's mandatory to use a kawi computer. You can no longer get into dealer mode 1/2 using the cable tapping method.

I did find a dealership that can do it but they recently got flooded so they pushed my appointment from july 9th to july 23rd...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Update: bike is fully functional now. Dealership hooked up a kawi computer and clicked a button and boom. Codes were cleared and kqs and ktc were working again. Cost me $30 so not bad.

Full scenario for anyone that comes across:
1. Installed pcv but TPS was loose when starting bike so my bike threw codes, which caused kqs and ktc to malfunction
2. Dealership cleared my codes and now everything works
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,611 Posts
Good news that it was only $30 to sort it out, and there waasn't any permanent damage. Thanks for following up. Knowlege shared, has greater value.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top