Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at buying my first bike sometime within the next few months. I really was quite keen on the Yamaha R6 or the Honda CBR600. Being the female that I am I am finding myself quite picky about the bike's appearance. Then I stumbled upon the Ninja and I am kindof in love! Anyways, I have been told by multiple people that a ~600 isn't too much bike for me if I take it slow. I am also enrolled in a class and plan on taking more before I jump in and buy one. I have extensive experience on ATVs, but I know that a bike is a totally different animal. I don't find wheelies, or going 100mph tempting at all.

My question is this: Is starting out with a 600 unreasonable? Many people say a 250 will just get boring too quickly, and quite honestly, I feel that if I was looking at a 250 I might as well look at a fast vespa instead. (aside from the fact that bikes=the sex.)

Also! I am 5'4, 135 lbs. Am I going to need to lower this beast?

·
Registered
7 Posts
nothing wrong with starting on a 250 or even a 500. your first bike definitely won't be your last. besides, you can sell the little ninjas a lot easier than you can any of the 600s.
A late model 600 is not a good begineer bike IMO.

·
butiwasgoingtotashistatio ntopickupsumpowerconvrtr
2,762 Posts
u looking at new ones?

i've started on a 600 and it's fine with me so far. just don't be stupid and learn the bike before gunning it or running it hard and you'll be fine. oh, and, take turns really slowly

·
Registered
96 Posts
Any bike can to be to much for a beginner rider.

It comes down to the rider and their ability learn, not do to much to fast or ride beyond their skills

You sound very mature and intelligent and are doing the right thing by taking the class.

If the bike is a great deal and you love it go for it.