Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats up guys? I'm new here. I've been reading over a lot of the threads, even though most of you here have bikes a lot newer than mine. I'm new to the bike work, I learned to ride last June and I'm trying to broaden my knowledge from cars to include bikes. My bike is a 1995 Ninja zx6-r with 12,000 miles, nothing amazing compared to what I see on here but it's my first bike and I'm happy with it.

I am having a problem that I will try to explain as good as I can:

When accelerating on my bike, or even at a constant speed, there is some some of hesitation between about 2700 and 4000 RPM's. It sort of feels like it is clogging, or like one of the (cylinders in the car) might not be firing. I'm assuming for the bike it means it could be a carb problem? Basically going from a stop, or any acceleration which starts from an RPM less than 5,000 RPM, the bike will almost bog down/hesitate between those RPM's and then kick in and be fine after it. Even a steady state of speed is hard to accomplish in this RPM range. The hesitation never fully goes away, but after the bike is sufficiently warmed, about 20-30 minutes of riding on a good day, it is almost unnoticeable but is clearly there.

Some things I have heard from friends are that it could be a problem in the carb's synchronization or that I need a carb clean. Does this seem right? or is there something else that could be going wrong? What should I do?