Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I recently was in a head-on (low speed) collision with an idiot who decided to cut a left turn instead of yielding. Bought the salvaged and totalled bike back and its now running great and I want to turn it into a race bike and get into some CCS stuff.

I have a couple questions for all you experienced racers/riders out there who are willing to help a new guy.

1. The rules state I need a catch pan. I can salvage whats left of the bottoms of my old fairings and fiberglass the bottoms together or I can try and buy ones meant for that already. Which would be easier/cheaper and does anyone know a company that sells them for relatively cheap (im a recent college grad waiting for orders/start work)

2. All the bolts have to be safety wired. Can I just wire them to some solid part of the frame or does it have to be to another bolt in the opposite direction? (their pictures are confusing)

3. I have full race leathers but it says I need a back protector. My old riding jacket has a back-protector inserted into it that I can remove. Will that work?

I'm sure I will have more questions pop into my head but any other suggestions or things I probably wont know to ask would be awesome! Thanks!

·
Registered
742 Posts
Hot bodies makes a fairly cheap underpan that is rated and qualified for track use. I believe it has to hold atleast 4-5 quarts incase your leaking massive fluids. As far as the safety wiring? Idk I think it would work to wire around the frame so long as it can't move. As far as a back protector they arnt talking the little foam that comes in a jacket. They mean like on from Knox for example. There is a guy selling one on here for $120 I think? Doesn't sound like a bad deal

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3