Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Hope I don't make myself look a nob asking this but I've just put a deposit on a 2005 636. In good condition (a few slight scuffs) its has 13k on the clock.

I have a lot of experience green laning/ road riding on enduro bikes and have had road bikes since being 17 but only 125s (I'm 37 now). I did buy a CBR600f last year but only had it for a couple of months but had to get rid as 'I was being very selfish have 2 motorbikes' :bash. I used the KTM every weekend and some evenings so the cbr went and I probably only did a couple of hundred miles on it.

As I don't have much experience on sports bikes is this a silly move or is a 636 ok as a starter'ish sports bike ?? As I am nearly an old man I think I'm slightly mature :devious

·
Registered
15,366 Posts
Hi All,

Hope I don't make myself look a nob asking this but I've just put a deposit on a 2005 636. In good condition (a few slight scuffs) its has 13k on the clock.

I have a lot of experience green laning/ road riding on enduro bikes and have had road bikes since being 17 but only 125s (I'm 37 now). I did buy a CBR600f last year but only had it for a couple of months but had to get rid as 'I was being very selfish have 2 motorbikes' :bash. I used the KTM every weekend and some evenings so the cbr went and I probably only did a couple of hundred miles on it.

As I don't have much experience on sports bikes is this a silly move or is a 636 ok as a starter'ish sports bike ?? As I am nearly an old man I think I'm slightly mature :devious
My take? You'll find the 636 a LOT heavier than the KTM. It will have quite limited steering lock, much better brakes, poor ergonomics relative to the KTM (tough to stand on the pegs, or look any direction by straight ahead) and it will continue to rev long after the KTM gives it up. Not terribly arm stretching at any point, but it just keeps going and going and going.