Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im relatively new to riding the 2008 zx6r and this might seem like a very newbish question but...

- First i want to add that the bike has around 5,400 miles completely stock.

- The issue is as follows: every day my bike starts up in a normal manner with no delay. I typically just press the button and turns on right away!

-However, when i go to school and leave it parked outside in the sun for several hours and i try to turn it on, the bike has a very bad delay and wont turn on unless i put it on neutral and move it back and forth until it turns on...

Could there be a potential problem that the sun might be causing? such as somehow draining the battery?

Whenever i'm home, i have the bike covered and away from the sun and starts up like a champ, yet when i leave it out on the sun for time it feels as if it struggles starting up and have to hold the start up button for several seconds. I was wondering if this is causing damage to my bike? :(.

Can some one please help? :( i feel like its causing my bike pain and i dont know if its something wrong im doing or if this is something that happens normally when you leave your bike out in the sun...

I always baby it and shift gears at around 5-6k rp and for fuel i always give it premium gas and make sure the oil is changed every 3k miles

·
Registered
48 Posts
Does it turn over and eventually start or when you push the button, or does nothing happens for a while and then it starts to crank?

Do you have a custom gas cap, sounds stupid but when you're at school, before you try starting the bike open the gas cap and close it, the air pressure could be a problem with expanding gas in the fuel tank.

05 bikes use to have a ECU problem when it overheated and damaged it but it was from the exhaust, I think the 08 models were pretty much free of that problem, something still makes me think it might be electrical?

·