Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay guys.... My brother used to be good about wearing his gear when we go out riding but, lately he has been seriously slacking. Not to mention his new bike seems to match his new attitude.

When my brother and I started riding on the street we were both very safety conscious, grant it we thought we were the coolest kids around but, we both wore our gear, were considerate to the traffic around us and respected the power our bikes have. I had a 2004 CBR F4i and he had a 2003 ZX6R we used to ride around in the Las Vegas sun wearing our gear and neither of us had a bad word to say about how hot it was, or how uncomfortable it was.

When I came home about a month ago with the 2013 ZX6R it must have sparked something in my brother because all he was doing was talking about getting a new bike, which I was all for. His ZX6R has seen better days and it sure would be nice for the two of us to be on shiny new machines, together again--until this past Friday.

Shortly after I get home from work my brother pulls up on a 2013 R1, Toce exhaust, double bubble windscreen, the whole nine. The only protective gear he was wearing was the LV, NV required helmet. No jacket, no gloves, etc. I shrugged it off figuring that the lack of gear may have been due to the (most likely) impulsive purchase of the R1 ("too excited to go home and get my gear, I just wanna ride.."). Theeeeen we go riding yesterday and wouldn't ya know it out comes my brother; Dickies shorts, T-shirt, tennies and his helmet. I asked him where his gear was and he shrugged it off. Through out our ride I made a few more comments about his gear (or lack there of). So here I am riding around town geared to the teeth on my ZX6R with my newly Squidly brother T-shirt and shorts on the R1.