Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I can't decide if the zx6r is the right bike for me. I will be traveling 700 miles in one day at the start of the summer to California where I'll live for business for 2 months and then promptly pack up and drive back to Utah at the end of a 15 week period. Would the bike hold up to so many miles in a day without any problems or over heating? Would the bike still remain reliable? Is it possible to even make the trip in a day with all the stops Id probably need? I'd only have a month of riding time on it before I left on the trip so I wouldn't be too conditioned for it. Any suggestions for me? Sorry I'm really a noob:O ️thankyou!

·
Registered
129 Posts
Ummm...

This is probably among the least suitable bikes for what you want to do. It will do the 700 miles no sweat. The bike will run warm, you'll be miserable, but the bike will be absolutely rock solid (unless you get one that already has problems or something).

Unless you really want a sportbike, I'd look elsewhere. I'll be doing an 800 mile trip (over two days though) in about a month and I ride an 09 zx6r. I'll be okay, but it's certainly not the best suited or the most comfortable for such a trip. But if you want/love sportbikes, go for it! I love the zx and they're probably about as reliable as any of the other Japanese sport bikes. Hope that helps.

·
Registered
41 Posts
The bike can handle the trip no problem. These however are not the most comfortable bike's for traveling a long distance. I would look into getting a "standard" which has a more upright riding position. Ninja EX650R or Versys EX650 (if your a newer rider) or Ninja 1000 (if your more experienced). Other makes and models that are standards: Yamaha FZ6,FZ7, FZ9 and FZ1, Suzuki V-Storm 650 or 1000. Honda CB500F or CB1000. Just some ideas for you!!

Reactions: Off Camber

·
Super Moderator
13,322 Posts