Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started riding street for the first time on April 10 and since then I've rode about 600 miles total. I've always rode dirt so learning was very easy for me especially after I learned how to lean and counter steer correctly. I feel extremely comfortable on the bike now but I told myself I wouldn't even attempt a stunt (not even a quick pop up wheelie) until after riding for a year. My bike is my baby.

My question for you kind folks is how long did you wait after getting your FIRST street bike before attempting your first stunt even a simple one, and how did it turn out for you?

·
Registered
4,554 Posts
I started riding street for the first time on April 10 and since then I've rode about 600 miles total. I've always rode dirt so learning was very easy for me especially after I learned how to lean and counter steer correctly. I feel extremely comfortable on the bike now but I told myself I wouldn't even attempt a stunt (not even a quick pop up wheelie) until after riding for a year. My bike is my baby.

My question for you kind folks is how long did you wait after getting your FIRST street bike before attempting your first stunt even a simple one, and how did it turn out for you?
2 years and counting.

Actually that's a lie, I popped a sweet wheelie on accident when my clutch went out.

I don't think there's a time that's too early if you take it slow, aren't an idiot and are willing to deal with the fact that you're gonna drop your bike at some point. Oh and you are in a closed area and not doing it on the road.

·
Registered
4,164 Posts
I've probably attempted to wheelie under 10 times in my life. Done a few small ones under power at the track, but I'm under the impression that's not what your talking about

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter #8