Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yes, I did look it up on the search but did not find the answer and I am new to the ZX6Rs.

So my idle is at 2k, I know the idle adjustment knob is the left hand side by the fairings per the service manual but it doesn't tell me which way to turn. I want to lower the idle and I messed with it a bit but it did not move up or down regardless of the way I turned the knob.

So my question is:

To lower the idle, do I turn the knob to clockwise or counterclockwise? Thanks ahead of time and forgive my lack of experience

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You could adjust it while the bike is on.
The bike is a 2013. I had the bike running on idle, it was at 2k, I turned the knob like three full revolutions clockwise and nothing happened. Tried it three full revolutions counterclockwise and the rpms didn't change. You have a 2013, which way (CW or CCW) to lower the idle? Thanks

·
Registered
87 Posts
I have a 2013, and you need to turn the knob CW to increase the idle, and CCW to decrease the idle. Maybe your idle adjuster is stripped. You should have noticed a change in the idle, after turning it three full rotations. I only had to turn my adjuster a half turn to notice a change in the idle.:O

·
Registered
1,783 Posts
Yea if your idle didn't adjust with that many rotations, something's wrong. I changed my idle like 200 RPMs because it was stalling and I only had to turn it like an 8th of a turn. If that. Can't remember which direction though.

·
Registered
1,143 Posts
it should not take much to adjust idle, if you did 3 full rotations something is wrong. you positive your twisting the right knob?

·
Registered
6,502 Posts
I think its clockwise to increase, counterclockwise to decrease rpm's looking from the clutch lever side. It responds to the slightest turn. A whole turn sounds extreme.

·
Registered
401 Posts