Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I'm not a professional rider but I'd like to share my thoughts with the forum, from a "normal rider's" point of view, on my first impressions of my Red 2007 ZX-6R. I'll try to make it brief, but informative. Enjoy.

When I first saw this bike on the showroom floor I really liked the body style. I sat on it and realized that not only is it a really nice looking bike, but it is rather comfortable as well. I sat on the '07 Yamaha R6 and the '07 Honda 600 RR and the Ninja overall had the best riding posture, seat cushion and windscreen height (although still a bit low for street riding). And no, I didn't even consider a Gixxer, so I did not bother sitting on it.

So I bought it. When I turned the key for the first time I was disappointed at the sound that came from the exhaust. Oh well, I'll have to get an aftermarket can sooner than later. When I put it in gear and rolled on the throttle the bike felt extremely tamed. So I took the back road home to free it up a bit. I quickly realized that the "sweetspot" on the powerband of this bike is up top starting at around 8500 RPMs. It doesn't have very much low end torque. However, once the torque kicks in the acceleration is very smooth and powerful.

Out in the twisties is where this bike earns major points. The Bridgestone BT015's are great tires, but you could probably slap some plastic tires on this bike and still tear up the twisties. This bike rolls into corners effortlessly. It took me no time to roll to the edge of the sidewall on both sides of my rear tire. I can't wait for my first track day on this thing.