Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2007 zx6r Okay, so heres what we've got so far. i wrecked the bike about 4 months ago on the right side. got all new plastic and all that put back on. all the wiring we went through and so far everything looks good. * avionics tech for the air force * so im a certified electrician, i know wiring lol anyways its showing a fault code of 64 which is Air switching valve malfunction, wiring open or short. have yet to find that open or short... also went for a ride today when i got everything together. id say prob about 7-8 miles of riding it started getting sluggish on the throttle response real bad. then the gauges went out as i was going up hill. like the battery died. so i rolled it down the hill and roll started it. and got to the bottom, leveled out and it got sluggish again and died again. now we can hook a battery charger on it and it will start right up. also all the gauges and stuff come on when i turn it to on and its showing 11.8v without the battery charger on it. i know it should be showing 12.8v i believe. but as i give it throttle, it doesnt spike up in voltage, in fact is stays steady or slowly decreases in voltage. i'm wondering if this fault code code be something to do with the charging system being messed up or code that just be a separate issue. and also if its slowly decreasing in voltage as throttle is applied would this be the rectifier? how would i test it or how would i test the stator? any help on this would be greatly appreciated. also, could a wreck have made the battery cells go bad?

·
Registered
739 Posts
might have broken a cell in the battery when it dropped.(best case) or you really need to find that short and hope it's not in the ecu.(worst case) either way get the battery tested to eliminate that before you go tearing in to the rest of the bike.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·