Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi peeps im after a little help i have a ninja zx6r 636 2013 and im in need of a new chain sprocket kit
iv been looking on the web but can only find kits in the states an the price with shipping is silly amount of money .
an buying kawasaki original parts are over the top to
here is what the original parts cost here in the uk

CHAIN,DRIVE,EK520RMX112L - 920570647
£225.20

SPROCKET-HUB,43T - 420410094
£63.98

SPROCKET-OUTPUT,16T,#520 - 131440038
£34.84
Total
£324.02

now i have been looking at getting renthal kit for my bike witch consists of

Kawasaki ZX-6R | ZX636 2013 RENTHAL Rear Sprocket
43 Teeth HARD ANODISED
£27.85

RENTHAL Front Sprocket Kawasaki ZX636 | ZX-6R 2013-2014
16 Teeth (520 Chain)
£13.44

Renthal R4 SRS 520 Motorcycle Chain
Options: 520R4SRS - 112 Links
£103.34
Total
£144.63

now thats a better price for me
now my problem is chain length i cant seem to find what length my chain is if im right in my thinking the code (EK520RMX112L)on the original part for the chain answers my question .
i need a 520 chain at 112 links ???
if anyone could help me out on this before i go ordering it would be much appreciated as i dont want to order one thats going to be to long or short
thankyou
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,556 Posts
120 links is the minimum I've seen that is used for your bike... stock is 112, so you're good if you order a 520 chain with 120 links. That is UNLESS you have an aftermarket sprocket setup or an extended swingarm.

When in doubt, order more than 120 links and cut 'em down, but you should know what you need before that.

jimundascores
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ok now im still confused i wanna keep everything stock so you say 112 is stock so wouldnt this be the length i need ?

im sorry im a total noob when it comes to bikes but im learning , give me a pc an ill have it doing what ever you want :)

sedsy72 iv done 11.5 k todate

i no its high for age but what can i say i ride alot its how i get away from real life :0
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,556 Posts
ok now im still confused i wanna keep everything stock so you say 112 is stock so wouldnt this be the length i need ?

im sorry im a total noob when it comes to bikes but im learning , give me a pc an ill have it doing what ever you want :)

sedsy72 iv done 11.5 k todate

i no its high for age but what can i say i ride alot its how i get away from real life :0
If you have not changed sprocket tooth count then buy a 112 chain. I've always bought 120 and cut them down.

Make sure to buy an extra master link in the size/color of your chain if it's your first time. They typically come with one master link. It's not unusual to over-tighten the master link the first time you've attempted this, so call it insurance.

You will need a chain rivet tool.s

jimundascores
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thank you for the help I have all the right tools for the job an will pick up a extra link just in case
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,556 Posts
Thank you for the help I have all the right tools for the job an will pick up a extra link just in case
Cool. I'm probably the only one that does this, but I buy an off-color extra link. For example, I have a gold chain, but buy an extra black master link. I can more easily see when the black link spins around when lubing my chain.

Works for me. To each their own.

jimundascores
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13,659 Posts
Cool. I'm probably the only one that does this, but I buy an off-color extra link. For example, I have a gold chain, but buy an extra black master link. I can more easily see when the black link spins around when lubing my chain.

Works for me. To each their own.

jimundascores
I hadn't considered a colored chain, and would never have gotten to a mismatched master for reference..... that's an interesting take on knowing when you've done the whole chain. Could be done with a 'standard' chain just as well -- just add a colored master link, and you have the reference mark.

As it is, I always end up going all the way around 4 or 5 times to make sure I've gotten everything.

When my OEM chain finally gives up the ghost, I may well go this route.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
What happened to the oem chain and sprocket? Or do you just wanna replace due to mileage?
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top