Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well my bike came with kawi Chem full syn oil , and i just didnt like that oil , Didnt like the way the bike shifted , or the sound it made when it did, ive also used Rottela Full syn oil in it , and didnt like that either. Overall just didnt like either oil. Im a motorcycle tech by profession ( MMI graduate) and i had heard realllllllly good stuff about the Castrol R4 oil ,that its just about the best stuff you can buy for a street bike. In the Past in my other bike i usually used either Repsol full syn or Mobil 1 Full syn. Anyway after work i bought this oil ( kinda pricey , 10.95 a quart) , and a filter and changed the oil. Im now on my second oil change using this stuff , and i cant say enough about it , this is EXTREMLY GOOD OIL. Some of the MAJOR things ive noticed , is with the kawi chem syn and shell rotella syn , here in phoenix on hott days , it would run about 215 sitting in traffic, 190 moving , on days 90+ plus and at night when it was 75-80 out , about 165-180 degrees. With the Castrol R4 in there , The biks run coool, when its 95 out and sitting in traffic it never got over 195 , and when moving in 95 degree weather it runs about 175-180 , at night it runs about 160. With this oil the bike runs about 20 degrees cooler than other oils. Also now that i have flushed the coolant system when i did the second oil change and added engine ice , it sits about 185 sitting in traffic and runs about 175 when moving on hottt days.
The second thing i noticed about this oil is the transmision wayyyyy smoother. Using the rottela or kawi chem , it would click , or clunk a lil bit , notorious for kawis , not with castrol R4, It quited the tranny up a great deal , shifting is smooth and easyyyy, it almost power shifts shifting normally because its gear changing is smooth. The motor and top end also idles a lot quiter with the castrol R4 in it, sounds great.