Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I'm a newbie and have noticed a lot of vets getting pissy about people asking questions that have already been answered on this site, and I'm just letting you know, I've spent 2 brain-racking hours trying to find an answer already. So if you dont have anything nice to say, FUCK OFF!!

That said, I have a '00 ZX6r. with a Yoshi slip on. Unfortunately, having bought the bike used, and being the third owner... i don't know too much about what else has been changed out/ removed or added.

The problem is...... I was cruising at 60 mph, around 7,500 - 8k rpm, and suddenly my bike lost almost all of it's torque and the pitch of the exhaust lowered TREMENDOUSLY. I had about another 2 miles to the house, so I cruised it as much as i could. You can still hear the rpms moving up, but it sounds as if something's blocking my exhaust tremendously, and it has no GO to it. ( I'm thinking the word is torque, but don't want to use a word that will throw anyone off). Anyway, I get it home, All air hoses are good to go, gas is fresh *just filled up from E this morning*, and after sitting for a bit, she cranks right backk up , with no problems at all. What else should I look at? Plugs should be good as I just changed out 2 months ago, and battery is kept on a maintenance charger nightly. Any help in figuring this out before I end up stranded on the side of the road, pushing it would be awesome!!!

·
Registered
4,735 Posts
Saying "fuck off" probably won't get you an answer this isn't really a trolling site. Well i troll but still

Anyways have you checked your injectors?

Cleaned your air filter?

Is your bike running rich/lean at all?

Oh forgot you have a carbed bike...

Cleaned your carbs? Jetted them? Anything of the sorts?

·
Registered
14,395 Posts