Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
does anyone have any advice on practicing cornering? as of right now i feel like i slow down way too much before hitting a corner its quite aggrivating but im not trying to ride out of my limits, is it just fear? my only method of practicing now is my ride to work in the mornings i try to hit the highway ramps harder each time.

·
Registered
127 Posts
It's just a matter of learning your comfort zone. It also depends on the corners you are hitting too. Some are too tight to go through hard, where others you just have to get used to leaning harder to get through them while going faster.

·
Registered
160 Posts
I'm no pro, but look to the exit of the corner, turn your hips to the direction you plan to go and just lean. Keep pressure off the bars. Don't use your hands/arms to hang on. Use your outside leg. If you feel like you're going too fast, lean more. Your tires will hold more than you can imagine. Smooth and steady wrist.

·
Registered
818 Posts
practice makes perfect. find a nice bit of road and use an hour to master it, going just that little faster every time.
as said, if you find yourself going a bit too fast your bike will handle it more than you can imagine.... never brake and sit it up :coocoo just lean it over and above all BE CONFIDENT and relax :2fingerlol:

·
Registered
236 Posts
Same boat here. Hitting those corners at speed scares the crap out of me. It's hard to find the limits when if your tires start to slide, you're going to get some nice road rash!

·
Registered
11,663 Posts
Best thing to do seriously... is go hit the track for a day. Ride with an instructor.

Work on a few things...

Body position - Stay forward on the tank. When entering the turn... buttcheak off to the side, weight on the inside peg, countersteer and drop the bike in at the last second pretty much. You want your face to pretty much be right over your handlebar.