Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I have a bone stock 2005 ZX6r in great condition which I brought a few months ago. I commute on it daily (around 17miles a day at least) and ride it occasionally at pace on the weekends (when time permits). Its got around 14,000 miles on the clock.

I clean and lube the chain when neccessary however as I'm new to the mechanical side of bikes (used to get my old one serviced professionally frequently) I wondered about other basic upkeep to help the bike stay at its best.

What should I be checking on the regular? And how often should it be in the shop for a full service?

help would be awesome!

·
Registered
13,313 Posts
Chain should be done most often. About every 200 miles I would say. Then u got ur engine oil. Check ur brake fluid and tire pressures every now n then.

Then u got lubing cables, wheel bearings, steering stem, radiator flush, brakes.

·
Registered
3,365 Posts
You can always check the owners manual for routine maintenance and pre-ride checks. You can refer to the factory service manual for all of the regular maintenance intervals. The two will tell you everything you need to know about what to check and when.

You can download the owners manual from the "owner center" on the Kawasaki.com web page.

You can download the factory service manual from the service manual section of this forum.

·
Registered
8,196 Posts
Hey guys,

I have a bone stock 2005 ZX6r in great condition which I brought a few months ago. I commute on it daily (around 17miles a day at least) and ride it occasionally at pace on the weekends (when time permits). Its got around 14,000 miles on the clock.

I clean and lube the chain when neccessary however as I'm new to the mechanical side of bikes (used to get my old one serviced professionally frequently) I wondered about other basic upkeep to help the bike stay at its best.